top of page
Search
  • dkishler

The Stealing Stopped




Nineteen-year-old *Mbali saw a crowd gathering in her village. People were getting ready to dish up hot food for her neighbors. Before the food was given, a man stood up with a microphone speaking in her local language of isiZulu. She did not exactly understand the message, but she was intrigued. After *Mbali ate the delicious biryani (a seasoned chicken, rice, and vegetable dish), she went to find the man with the microphone.



There were a few other people who were interested as well. Pastor Congolo set up a meeting with the four residents the next week. Three people showed up and the pastor shared the truth of the Scriptures unlike anything they had heard before. Pastor Congolo asked them to think and pray about what he had shared. Then he would come back and see if they had any questions. Pastor Mzo noticed a large nose ornament that *Mbali wore. He knew it meant something to her, whether to please the ancestors or to protect her from something.


After four days, Pastor Congolo and Pastor Mzo spoke with *Mbali and the two other youths. They shared the Gospel again. *Mbali appeared troubled but seemed unwilling to share what was bothering her. However, her nose ornament was gone. Pastor Mzo asked *Mbali if the message they shared was clear to her. It was then that she shared her story.

Pastors, I live in Durban with my mother and siblings. Twice a month I go to visit my father who owns a small shop. After you left, I went to visit him. Every time I see him, I stop by the shop and take a little money out of the till. I am a sinner and I steal. But after you came to visit me, I went to the shop and couldn’t steal. I tried to steal again but something wouldn’t let me steal. I was very upset and went back home.

Pastor Mzo asked *Mbali, “Will you steal again?” *Mbali replied, “I can’t steal because of the message. I prayed and cried, ‘I know God [that] you can save me.’ Only Christ can stop me from stealing.” Pastor Mzo smiled at her and said, “God has worked in you. You are a new creation. The old is gone and the new has come. Praise the name of the Lord!”

*Name changed to protect identity

Article written by Kathy Ishler

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page